Thanksgiving….really?

So this will be a short one….

I’m sitting here licking the wounds of another Thanksgiving.  Long drive to another state to see the in-laws, great lunch but too much time spent worrying over whether we are shopping or not, going to this place or not, who is getting what for Christmas or not, hurry up and wait, hurry up and wait some more. Really? 

I missed the Thanksgiving fiasco with my own family who I hear were all in foul moods and fretting over whether we will draw names for Christmas or not. Grumble, grumble, curse, grumble. Really? Seriously?

So, as I said, here I am licking the wounds from another “Thanksgiving”. I find myself being thankful for certain.  Thankful that my God is a God who forgives. Forgives even a wretched old soul like mine. That He gives me another chance. A chance to look at all this stuff, all this drama, all this tradition, and look past it to grace given so freely. I gave thanks on Thanksgiving. Now I need to be thankful every minute for the rest of my life.

God forgive me for being so focused on me and not enough on You and those you sent your Son to die for. For that I am truly thankful.

Todd aka DaddyDaddy

Leave a Reply

