Praying the Word – Part 1

As a believer is Jesus Christ as my personal savior and Lord, it is important that I stay in a state of relationship with Him and am grounded in the Word of God as well as the presence of God.

All of that sounds very formal and almost ethereal in manner and application but the simple truth is that to know God I must know His word and to be in a relationship with Him I have to do that through the avenue of prayer.

Prayer in and of itself can be intimidating, embarrassing, uncomfortable and down right rote. Let me ask a question. This is for those who are believers in God. Feel free to answer if you are otherwise but, have you ever wanted to hear God speak to you in an audible voice? Hang on to the answer to that question. I’m going to circle back to that in a minute.

In order to pray the Word of God there are some key elements you need to have in place. These have nothing to do with quiet places, comfortable surroundings or mood setting music, although, those concepts will help but they are not necessary.

First, pray the name of the Lord.  Psalm 9:10 “And they that know Thy name will put their trust in Thee: for Thou Lord, hast not forsaken them that seek Thee.”  Sorry for the formal language translation but the point is you need to know the names of God and pray those names into your life daily. What does that mean? Everyone has a name and everyone is know by many names. As a person my wife’s name is Sharon. To my children she’s mommy. To me, she is sweety, honey, babe or the ultimate sugarbooger. The point is she is know by many names and each has a particular connotation to the relationship and the person relating to her. God is no different. He has many names and they all mean something special and reflect multiple aspects of how He relates to us and how we relate and worship Him.

There is a simple Bible song called “Praise the name of Jesus”. Would that I could sing it for you but the tune is the thing for the moment. Using that tune as the base you can sing aloud the names of God and use that as an opening of the lines between you and God on a daily basis. It is important to do this out loud. You need to use your eyes, your ears and your voice to make this most effective.

Below I have provided the lyrics. You provide the tune and the voice and God will provide all the rest. Some will see this as the most queer thing you can do. I caution you to not let stereotypes get in the way of meeting God on a personal level. I’m a man’s man to be sure, but I can tell you personally that when this is done with an open mind and an open heart, God will use this in a powerful way in your heart and mind. Don’t do it lightly. God is not mocked.

Jehovah-Jireh (yir-eh’) See Genesis 22:14                                                                              Praise Jehovah-Jireh, praise Jehovah-Jireh,                                                                          You’re my source, You’re my sufficiency, You’re my provider                                                In you will I trust. Praise Jehovah-Jireh

Jehovah-Rapha’ (raw-faw) See Exodus 15:26                                                                        Praise Jehovah-Rapha’, praise Jehovah-Rapha’,                                                                    You’re my health, You’re my healing, You’re my physician,                                                    In you will I trust, Praise Jehovah-Rapha’

Jehovah-Nissi (nis-see’) See Exodus 17:15                                                                            Praise Jehovah-Nissi, praise Jehovah-Nissi,                                                                          You’re my flag, You’re my banner, You’re my victory,                                                            In you will I trust, Praise Jehovah-Nissi

Jehovah-M’Oadash (Mc-kaw-dash’) See Leviticus 20: 7-8                                                      Praise Jehovah-M’Oadash, praise Jehovah-M’Oadash                                                          You’re my light, You’re my holiness, You’re my sanctity,                                                          In you will I trust, Praise Jehovah-M’Oadash

Jehovah-Shalom (shaw-lome’) See Judges 6:24                                                                      Praise Jehovah-Shalom, praise Jehovah-Shalom,                                                                  You’re my peace, You’re my comfort, You’re my security,                                                      In you will I trust. Praise Jehovah-Shalom.

Jehovah-Rohi See Psalm 23:1                                                                                                  Praise Jehovah-Rohi, praise Jehovah-Rohi                                                                            You’re my guide, You’re my shepherd, You’re my protector                                                    In you will I trust, Praise Jehovah-Rohi

Jehovah-Tsidqenuw (tsid-day’-noo) See Jeremiah 23:6                                                          Praise Jehovah-Tsidqenuw, praise Jehovah-Tsidqenuw,                                                      You’re my life, You’re my redemption, You’re my righteousness,                                            In you will I trust, Praise Jehovah-Tsidqenuw

Jehovah-Shammah (shawm’-maw) See Ezekial 48:35                                                            Praise Jehovah-Shammah, praise Jehovah-Shammah,                                                          You’re my friend, You’re my faithfulness, You’re omnipresent,                                                In you will I trust, Praise Jehovah-Shammah.

Jehovah-Sabaoth (sab-ah-owth’) See 1 Samuel 1:3                                                                Praise Jehovah-Sabaoth, Praise Jehovah-Sabaoth                                                                You’re my rock, You’re my fortress, You’re my deliverer                                                        In you will I trust, Praise Jehovah-Sabaoth

I’ll let you have a couple days with this and then I’ll post part 2 of Praying the Word. Hope you find this enriching.

Leave a Reply

