Praying the Word – Part deux

So by this time, if you read the last blog post, you’ve had a few days of singing the names of God and getting familiar with each one. I hope that part has been beneficial to you and your walk with God.

Now I want to suggest one more addition to the process you already have going. That is praying the Word in line with the Word. Proverbs 28:9 says,”He that turneth away his ear from the law, even his prayer shall be an abomination.” What that means to me is that if I want God to hear my prayers it would be to my benefit to know what His word says about what I need to be praying about.

There are two types of word. There is LOGOS meaning the expression of thought or the spoken word. All of the Bible is the word of God, the living word.  An example of this is John 1:1, 14 “In the beginning was the Word….and the Word was made flesh. Also, John 15:3 You are made clean through the word…  Next there is RHEMA or the quickened word. The Holy Spirit quickens all logos to make it rhema. Romans 10:17 “So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.”

With that in mind it is important to have a cross wise  method to how we live and relate to creation. There is a vertical relationship with God and a horizontal relationship with man and the rest of God’s creation. This is where you picture in your minds eye the cross of Christ and you will see both of those relationships in unison.

In the last post I asked the question, “How many times have you wished you could hear God speak to you in an audible voice.”  Well see if this doesn’t make sense to you. If the Bible is the very word of God, the logos, then when we read the word of God out loud, we are hearing the voice of God in an audible way. I’ll be quick to point out that I am not God and neither are you, however, scripture tells us that “God inhabits the praise of His people.” So when I read God’s word aloud, hear that word, pray it back to God and act on it, I am taping into a unique and personal power source that is at once engaging and reviving.

Okay, I hear you. Great concept, but tell me how this works in practical terms. This is really easy. God in his infinite wisdom has allowed us to arrange a calendar, in general terms to have, on average, 30 days in a month. So at the writing of this post, this is the 3rd day of March. Today I went to Psalms 3 and began reading aloud. As I read that very short chapter, I used my eyes, ears, voice and was completely engaged in what I was doing. No drifting, no wandering thoughts. Just me and the audible voice of God. If there was a particular part of that chapter that the Holy Spirit impressed on my heart, after reading the entire chapter aloud, I went back and prayed that verse or section back to God and poured out my heart to Him about what the word was saying to me, asking me to do, or making me to think about. It may have something to do with my heart, my thought life, my kids or wife or my relationship to others in my life. Once done with that chapter, I add 30 to it and go to Psalms 33 and repeat the process. Each morning I go through 5 chapters of Psalms. Today’s was Psalm 3, 33, 63, 93 and 123.  This is the vertical relationship of my prayer time.  Next I do one chapter of Proverbs. There are 31 chapters in Proverbs, so one for each day of the month.  Reading through Proverbs 3 in the same manner as I did in the Psalms. This will generally speak to the horizontal relationship  with man and the rest of God’s creation.

One thing I noticed is that this process doesn’t really take me that long. The length of time is not the matter but rather the quality of the time I spend with God doing this. I am ingesting His word, hearing God speak directly to me through His word about my relationship to him and the world around me, and praying His word back to Him. There is no way my prayer time will be an abomination in this process. I am looking fully and deeply into the face of God, the very character of the almighty. I find it difficult to be in the presence of God and walk away unchanged. Truly, this is what a daily time with God is for. To be more like Him and less like a creature of the world.

I hope you will try this and will comment on what your experience is with the process. May God use this in a mighty way to bring revival to your life and draw you daily into the presence of the Most High.

Leave a Reply

