You have to be prepared to hike alone sometimes

The importance of knowing who you are in Christ. 

Through hikers on any of the triple crown trails will have a group of persons that they hike with over the course of the trip. These groups are loosely affiliated many times. You’ll see and hike with hikers A and B today or for several days but eventually, they will take a zero or you will hike faster or slower than them and you’ll be separated from them for a time or perhaps never to see them again on the trail as each is hiking at his or her preferred or prescribed pace. You’ll come in contact with other hikers whose personality will simply not jive with yours. Consequently, there will be times where you will find yourself very much alone on the trail. Hiking for hours or even days and not spending any significant amount of time in the company of another human being other than yourself. Most through hikers will tell you that a NOBO or SOBO hike is 10% physical and 90% mental. The separation from friends, family and just the lonesomeness that one can experience on even the most well traveled trails is mind wrenching.

Have you had to go through a situation alone?  Have you ever had a situation that your friends didn’t understand or didn’t agree with? How did you make it through that situation?

The point is, you have to be prepared to follow the path alone. For the Christian man or woman this means that even your dearest and closest friends and family may choose to go where God has told you not to go. I have personally experienced the loss of friends because of the choice I made to follow Christ. They could not or would not walk the same path with me so they went their way and I went mine. This is a personal loss that is still tender to me even some 30 years later. Your relationship with Christ is to be paramount.

The scripture calls us to be in the world but not of the world. On a through hike, you are on the trail all day every day. You can’t escape that fact. You are hiking on it regardless of the circumstances or elements, but to become part of the culture of the trail can be a dangerous thing for a believer. There are some “traditions” that can cause a moral dilemma for even the most morally high minded hiker, believer or non-believer. The same is true of the day to day world you walk in. For some this feels like too much pressure, too much worrying over who I hang with, what we do, where I go, what I say. It’s just too much.  I have to agree with you, it is a great deal of things to be concerned about, but you have to remember, we’re not talking about a Thursday this week or next or the hour you spend online tonight or the social calendar for this next weekend. We’re talking about the final destination of your eternal soul. You want heavy, that is heavy. 1 Corinthians 6:19-20, “Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.” The price paid for your soul was steep and beyond comparison. You either grasp that and have an appreciation for it or you toss it aside like so many candy wrappers and dismiss it.

Some of your friends will want to go places you should not go, believe things that are contrary to the Word of God or live lives that seek only to satisfy their own desires and not to glorify God. You have to be prepared to walk on ahead. Stay the path alone for however long it takes. This is not to say that you make yourself a hermit because you have no Christian friends. I am a sinner saved by grace. Every other person I know is a sinner too. Some have accepted the gift and many have not. I have lots of lost friends. I live in the world but my allegiance is not to the world. There are some who will not associate with me or call themselves my friend because of my allegiance to Christ. Those individuals are beyond my influences. I can’t hope to be an agent of change in the lives of those around me if I’m not present. Hermits influence nobody.

Know this one thing. You will never be truly alone. First and foremost, Christ is always there with you and for you. Deuteronomy 31:8, “It is the LORD who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.”  OR  Matthew 28:19-20, “Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”

I will be willing to stand for Christ, even if I lose a friend in the process.  Yes   /   No

I will trust and know that Jesus is with me, even when I feel alone.  Yes   /   No

Leave a Reply

